

Policy 02:010 – Honorary Degrees

The University awards the honorary degree for exceptional, noteworthy achievement. This honor is bestowed in recognition of exceptional academic accomplishment as a teacher, researcher, administrator, or creative artist; or exceptional contribution or service to the University, state, or nation, in cultural, scientific, economic, or humanitarian activity.

The Board of Trustees considers the conferring of honorary degrees based upon: (1) the written recommendation of Faculty Senate and the President; or (2) the Board's own motion, by unanimous vote of its members present and voting. Honorary degrees to be awarded include: Doctor of Laws (LL.D.), Doctor of Science (D.Sc.), Doctor of Humane Letters (L.H.D.), Doctor of Humanities (D. Humanities), and Doctor of Letters (Litt.D.).

Honorary degrees are conferred at formal graduation exercises or during another auspicious occasion selected by the President.

Approved 2/78 Revised 5/99